Ying to the Yang

 

sponge

 

 

“Friendship  . . .  is born at the moment when one man says to another

“What! You too? I thought that no one but myself  . . . “

  1. S. Lewis. The Four Loves

Those are the exact words that rang in my head when I found my favourite friend. I say favourite because ordinarily I’d be forced to define what we have by particular adjectives that annunciate to words like closest friend or best friend perhaps less common a word like B.F.F.  Funny how fast the word uncommon was lost to you once mentally those abbreviated letters sprang through your mind right? Personally I consider it a complete tragedy of catastrophic repercussions.

Anyway in a world full of people-pleasers, some people subconsciously seek out souls that are unafraid to cut through the crap and tell them exactly what they think of their choices. (Laughs) Striking how that sounds alike to a title sequence straight out of a star wars movie.

Now my friend serves part of that purpose so by definition we don’t have a conventional friendship. It’s not that kind of friendship where you call because you’re bored of perhaps seeking some sort of limited excitement.  I have tonnes of people for that – ha. *Flashes introvert badge.* we only seek each other out when we want to scratch a relentless itch, when a topic of urgency or complete marvel rolls our minds. Like when I really need to talk, no small talk just endless talk about everything and nothing, the kind of conversation that writes books and paints pictures in your mind. Now that’s our version of fun. Contemporary it sounds like we are a serious lot but I can assure you we are not – just goofs stuck on inside jokes.

Now I couldn’t endlessly talk about a friendship without ultimately talking about the actual friend. So how do I describe her? After all, this was all about her, friendships do tend to mirror the faces and personalities involved, just not those that belong to us.  They’re selfish that way.  So again how do you start to describe an insatiable force of nature? I have to admit it’s close to impossible, after all friendship is the hardest thing in the world to explain, it’s not even something you learn in school, so am guessing a friend is like a close second, by relation anyway.

Now to get my friend you would have to get me first, see I am a creature of logic; all things argued on an emotional plain are almost always lost to me but argued upon my personality I still have my limitations. Although my logic seeps so thick, consider the datum that too many a time I have been deemed an alien but I am not above sparing people’s feelings and seeking emotion favourites.

So in relay she’s a number of things I am, perhaps a lot like a mental carbon copy. Definitely having acquired the Zen of their own existence and obviously written in a different ink.  She’s in this thing where she’s at the best part of her life, no longer in conflict with her person.

It’s funny though considering the capacity I am acquainted with said soul there’s no way in the heaven above or hell below she’d admit to it. She’s funny that way. Perhaps it’s true what they say modesty does have its appeal I guess.

Well if the above doesn’t sail your boat perhaps you’d be more at home thinking of like a program on your computer or an app on your phone. Take Whatsapp for example, almost everyone has it. Well there’s the normal kind and Whatsapp Beta. Technically Beta isn’t the better version just less rigid, more flexible, she’s it, am the normal kind, there’s no way in hell you’re changing my colour.(Laughs) I have to admit that sounds a little sick but then again personalities are pretty much like any program. Weird? Well yeah but if really think about it, like really think deep, am not that wrong.

Apart from that, there’s this thing she does flawlessly. Walt Disney wrote a fairy tale about this beautiful princess whose mother died and father ended up remarrying, as it is tradition among his stories she was a wicked soul. The step mother that is. Now in this story the stepmother had this magical mirror which she queried about her beauty. Rather limiting questions if you ask me. A magical mirror and that’s the best she could come up with, really? I always pegged evil people as rather bright *sighs* Anyway any time she asked it would give her the right answer or at least the answer she wanted to hear, until it didn’t. Well am guessing by now the story has already sprang into mind. I think its Snow White but I couldn’t be sure with Disney Studios messing up every fairy-tale.

So back to my point, she’s a lot like that mirror she will tell you what you must hear, not what you want to hear. When she does not she’s still metaphorically acts like a mirror, reflecting your thoughts,  a lot like talking to yourself but having the beautiful added insight of somebody else.

Now that’s as far as the similarities go, in plenty of aspects she’s completely different. Now having being so stuck on her intelligence initially, over time I spent enough time  around her to come to realise just how much caring she was. Initially I was stuck on the notion that our friendship was a complete brain child of mental compatibility rather than intimacy. Don’t get me wrong I value her in plenty of ways that could be described as intimate. Then again the majority of our conversations do linger around the topics of intimacy. So if one takes enough time to listen to her the statures of her emotion show only by how she talks about the people in her life. Hell she will avoid putting it in the exact words but sieving through her normal a word, it’s almost next to impossible missing her various actions. She’s the kind of person who does stuff rather than talk about it. A lot like a doctor, who shows up every day, does his best to fix you but will never directly say get better. Now apart from that as far as character goes, she’s somebody who is respectful, responsible, down to earth, loyal, trustworthy  – I should know the stuff I have told her I normally trade for souls, empathetic – kind of, not sure about that, I guess it depends but she’s definitely better than I am, independent and definitely driven. Open minded, almost forgot that – Now that’s one hell of a gem & she’s religious, God knows I personally struggle, am so out of it, don’t know why really but that’s one part of her am definitely jealous. Well she does have her concerns and questions but her roots run deep, super deep. Basically I could run with adjectives for a while before I maxed out everything.

Normally people leave the best part for last but I did mention am not everybody, I choose to writ e the boring part. Our meeting. Well it wasn’t so much an interesting affair, pretty much random I guess? Then again it depends if you’re a believer in fate. Am not , I hate the idea that my actions we predestined in any way but I rather enjoy the chaos theory; a branch of mathematics that deals with complex systems whose behavior is highly sensitive to slight changes in conditions, so that small alterations can give striking great consequences. Sounds a lot like a revolution of random events that ultimately ends up in fixed an occurrence described in a really complicated way. Worse if you ask me it just sounds like science trying to plagiarize fate out of its meaning. So nothing major happened, it wasn’t an unequal glamour like that of a born child and a mother, I believe it was somewhat like two born twins meeting. Complete Indifference. Alike to any meeting with a stranger it was lost to me.

Parting shot, like everything set against time, change is a necessary it didn’t take long to notice the quaintness, the differentiating characteristics, something along the lines of assertiveness and straightforwardness in the whole thing. So over time  I might have become  excited about this whole new thing in my life; so different, scratch that I was (that’s a lot coming from me; refer to introverted tendencies above – giggles). Still am really. Having had to settle in a generic society, with generic responses and generic answers refusing to live in their (humans) boxes and deemed weird, this change, this person  was definitely my cup of tea. My normal for a change

 

4 thoughts on “Ying to the Yang

  1. misswaigi

    I kept on wondering if I’ll finish reading this but when I got to the parting shot I was like nooooooo don’t end just yet. I wanna hear more about this she….
    The English is on point
    lastly, this she should count herself lucky…really!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

